Our packaging lines of Parmigiano Reggiano and Grana Padano

The packaging of Parmigiano Reggiano and Grana Padano is processed in the Boni factories of Torrile (Parma) and Casalmaggiore (Cremona). The wheels with different seasoning are cut in different weight slices and packed in a modern packaging, excellent for domestic use and catering.

Cubes, Flakes, Freshly grated complete the all range.

The packaging departments are subject to systematic controls by the health authorities and external certification bodies to ensure the best quality for the consumer.

Differences between Parmigiano Reggiano and Grana Padano

It’s important to know the differences between Parmigiano Reggiano and Grana Padano, in order to be able to appreciate both products.

Logo Parmigiano Reggiano

Cows feeding: fresh fodder with cereals

Production process: Parmigiano Reggiano is “made” once a day with milk milked the evening before, partially skimmed, to which is then added the milk from the morning milking.

Additives: There are no additives and preservatives in Parmigiano Reggiano.

Seasoning: The seasoning period starts from a minimum of 12 months to over 30 months.

Protected Area of Origin: The production of milk and the trasformation into Parmigiano Reggiano cheese is made in the provinces of: Parma, Reggio Emilia, Modena, Bologna to the left of the Rhine River, Mantua to the right of the River Po.

Cows Feeding: Fresh, hay and silage fodder (grass and cereal stored in special silos).

Processing: In Grana Padano raw milk is used up to two milkings of the same day, the mass of it is partly skimmed by naturally or (in most cases) mechanically.

Preservatives: In the Grana Padano, due to the use of silage fodder, Lysozyme (2-2,5 mg / l) is added as antifermentative, to prevent the formation of bacteria in the wheels during the seasoning period.

Seasoning: Seasoning ranges from a minimum of 9 months to over 20 months.

Zone of Protected Origin: The production and grinding area of ​​Grana Padano dop is the territory of the provinces of: Alessandria, Asti, Biella, Cuneo, Novara, Turin, Verbania, Vercelli, Bergamo, Brescia, Como, Cremona, Lecco, Lodi, Mantua (left of Po), Milan, Monza, Pavia, Sondrio, Varese, Trento, Padua, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice, Verona, Vicenza, Bologna (right of the Rhine), Ferrara, Forlì, Ravenna and Rimini, as well as the municipalities in the province of Bolzano: Anterivo, Lauregno, Proves, Senale-S.Felice and Trodena.